IPL Auction 2014

IPL Auction (2014)

February 22, 2021

IPL Auction 2014
IPL Auction 2014

As we said, we have loads of stuff to get through before the auctions start, so that’s why we are in so early. So before we go any further, here is what the franchises did before the auction. Want to know which players were retained? How much does each team have as their purse left? What is the ‘right-to-match card?’ Here are all the answers.


Players retained: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo.

Auction purse: Chennai have used up 39 crores due to the retentions. They are left with 21 crores for the auction.

Right-to-match card: Chennai have one right-to match card in the auction but it cannot be used for an India capped player since they have already included 4 capped players in the retention.


Players retained: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers.

Auction purse: Bangalore have spent Rs.29.5 crores due to the player retentions. They will have Rs.30.5 crores to spend at the auction.

Right-to-match card: RCB can use the right-to-match card once in the Auction.


Players retained: Manan Vohra (Uncapped), David Miller

Auction purse: Punjab have used up Rs.16.5 crores and will have Rs.43.5 crores to spend at the auction.

Right-to-match card: Punjab have two right-to-match cards.


Players retained: Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Stuart Binny (Uncapped) and Sanju Samson (Uncapped).

Auction purse: Rajasthan have spent 37.5 crores already to player retentions. They will be able to spend 22.5 crores at the auction.

Right-to-match card: Rajasthan have one right-to-match card.


Players retained: None.

Auction purse: Delhi will have their full purse of 60 crores to spend at the auction.

Right-to-match card: Delhi have three right-to-match cards.


Players retained: Dale Steyn, Shikhar Dhawan.

Auction purse: Hyderabad have used up 22 crores and will have 38 crores to spend at the auction.

Right-to-match card: Hyderabad have two right-to-match cards.


Players retained: Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Narine.

Auction purse: Kolkata have used up Rs.22 crores and will have Rs.38 crores to spend at the auction.


Players retained: Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Ambati Rayudu.

Auction purse: Like Chennai, Mumbai have used Rs.39 crores and will have Rs.21 crores for the auction.

Right-to-match card: Mumbai have one-right-to-match card.

IPL Winners 2014

The 2014 Indian Premier League Final was a day/night Twenty20 cricket match on 1 June 2014 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, which was played between Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders to determine the winner of the 2014 season of the Indian Premier League, an annual Twenty20 cricket tournament in India.

Winning the toss, Kolkata Knight Riders elected to field first. Kings XI Punjab set up a big total of 199/4 off 20 overs for their opposition. Kolkata Knight Riders chased the total successfully with three balls to spare losing seven wickets in the process and secured their second IPL trophy.


Follow Me On Instagram For More Details